Vitamin D3 is obtained from the wool of healthy sheep as part of normal shearing. Lanolin (a wool grease) is extracted from the wool and converted into active vitamin D3. Vitamin D is available primarily in two forms: vitamin D2 (ergocalciferol) and vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol). D2 is from plant or yeast sources (the plant precursor ergosterol is converted to D2 in a laboratory setting), while D3 is from an animal source (either from animal sources like fish or from lanolin from sheep wool). D3 is also the form that our bodies produce from skin exposure to sunlight. D3 is not available from a plant source and cannot be made from a synthetic source—a natural precursor, like lanolin, is required.
The Vitamin K2 in PA9+ used to contain sodium casein. Sodium casein is a milk derivative and therefore has to carry the allergen warning. We recently changed our vitamin K2 source so that it no longer contains sodium casein, and therefore no longer contains milk allergens. This change will soon start appearing on the product labels, but has already taken place for the product itself.”